Monday, August 17, 2015

AU Volleyball Announces 2015 Schedule

From our friends at AU Athletics...

Four regular-season tournaments, including a trip to Hawaii, and matches against three NCAA qualifiers from last season highlight the 2015 American University volleyball schedule, released today by head coach Barry Goldberg.

The Eagles open the year on August 28, when they host Howard at 7 PM on the opening day of the annual D.C. Volleyball Challenge. American concludes the tournament the next day with a pair of matches at George Mason, facing Georgetown and the host Patriots.

The biggest match on the schedule comes early in the year, as American hosts 2014 NCAA quarterfinalist Florida at 4 PM on August 30 for the ninth-annual "Bender Blue Out." The Eagles have posted impressive attendance figures during this yearly event, welcoming over 2,000 fans to Bender Arena in each of the past five seasons.

AU then hits the road for a pair of non-conference tournaments, first heading to Honolulu, Hawaii, for the Hawaiian Airlines Wahine Volleyball Classic September 4-6. There, the Eagles will take on UCLA and host Hawaii, both teams that participated in the 2014 NCAA Tournament, along with Big Ten opponent Iowa.

Meanwhile, American visits Columbia University September 11-12 for a tournament featuring Northeastern, NJIT and the host Lions. The Eagles then return home September 18-19 for the AU Volleyball Classic, as they host UMBC, Virginia and William & Mary.

The Eagles begin the 2015 Patriot League schedule September 25-26 with a pair of road contests at Lafayette and Bucknell. Meanwhile, American will host Army West Point (October 2) and Holy Cross (October 3) to open its home PL slate.

Following four league matches on the road, AU returns to Bender Arena for a non-conference contest versus Bethune-Cookman on October 16. The Eagles also visit local rival George Washington on October 21 before playing six of their final eight Patriot League matches at home.

The regular season concludes on November 13, as American hosts Loyola Maryland in a 7 PM contest. Meanwhile, the Eagles will seek their 13th league title in 15 years as the Patriot League Tournament takes place November 21-22 at the home site of the highest seed in the conference.

The winner of the 2015 Patriot League Tournament will advance to the first round of the NCAA Championship, which begins December 4. This year's final rounds will take place December 17 and 19 in Omaha, Nebraska.

Click here to see the full schedule.